A Different Take on the Doctrine of Election

Image

I listened to a fascinating podcast recently which discussed the way order can come out of apparent chaos in nature.  It was not a Christian show, just for the record.  Examples included lightning bugs in some parts of the world that seem to have the ability to synchronize their flashing and the way ants are able to develop incredible discipline in swarming to just the right place.

But don’t focus on my description here.  I was walking and sort of listening while also entertaining my own thoughts.  I am sure I could misstate the nature of the scientific discovery they were discussing.

The important part is what happened at the end of the story.  There were two male hosts.  One of them reflected on this emergence of patterns and order.  With a little awe in his voice, he said that he looked at the things they had learned in producing the broadcast and found that he could only describe what he observed as holy.  I was moved by the genuine emotion he conveyed.

His co-host had the opposite reaction.  He said, “See, when you talk about it like that, it just takes all the air out of the room for me.”

“Really?” the first man said, “You aren’t inspired by the idea of some greater purpose?  For you, it’s okay for what we are seeing to be ultimately empty?”

“Yeah, I think so,” the second man replied.

As I listened, I suddenly thought, “Maybe this is what the idea of divine election is all about.”

And I think I’ll leave it there.

4 thoughts on “A Different Take on the Doctrine of Election

  1. Pingback: The Hidden in Plain Sight Gospel – refining part of the last post « St. Mark's Lutheran

  2. What do you mean? That one man would see the beauty of order out of chaos and the other would shrug and say, “So?”

  3. Mr. Keester, I’m suggesting that the interaction between the two men may give us a sense of what is ultimately meant by a doctrine of divine election.

Comments are closed.