Popular Entertainments and the Soul

I have become older and more tender. A short while ago, I tried to watch The Walking Dead after hearing many people praise it. I couldn’t handle the program. Too raw. Too much emotion.

I also had to give up on my viewing of Downfall. I managed most of it, but when Frau Goebbels started giving her children cyanide in the bunker, I was done.

This is a stark change from my younger years when I could watch practically anything and feel almost nothing except vicarious thrills at sex, violence, and tragedy.  My hope is that rather than becoming weak and sentimental, my soul is actually becoming stronger and more engaged.  The sensations that would register little when there are no fully developed nerves to feel them are now felt with alarming force.  

