The Decline of the American Magazine

Suffering from information overload and tired of the sessions in which I would find myself exhausted from surfing too many sources on the web, I made a retro-style decision.  I subscribed to Time.

Newsweek was gone, but Time was still standing.  I assumed it was because Time was still Time.  Besides, I’d read a biography of Henry Luce (Time‘s founder) and was sentimental for his greatest creation.  Here, in one place, I would have an overview of the news fit to print.  It would be fairly objective and would adequately cover the bases.

The experiment has been a failure.  I have not especially enjoyed my subscription.  I do not feel better informed than I was.  What I have basically achieved is a greater sense of the opinions of Fareed Zakaria, Rana Foroohar, Joe Klein, and Mark Halperin.

Thanks to Time, I recently learned from a “constitutional expert” that we shouldn’t worry about the health insurance mandate because the states have been mandating auto insurance for decades. (Federalism, anyone?  Not a key feature of the document, I suppose.)

It has also come to my attention that the Tea Party was responsible for the troubled debt deal because they wouldn’t tolerate tax increases. (Neither did Barack Obama when he controlled both chambers of Congress and could have had his way.)

Finally, I have discovered that the debt compromise has actually legislated inequality because it will reduce government jobs and entitlements.  (I had not realized the government was supposed to make us equal through the rewarding of government jobs and entitlements.)

No, I don’t think I have time for Time, anymore.

P.S. Whatever you do, please don’t go back and look at past issues such as those from the 1950’s.  It’s just too depressing.

One thought on “The Decline of the American Magazine

Comments are closed.