Praying for Obama

I was speaking to a group of students (mostly conservatives) yesterday.  Like me, they were a little disturbed about losing the election.  There are many good reasons to have reservations about Obama. For me, the most notable has been the friendliness of his voting pattern toward abortion.

However, it would be a mistake morally, spiritually, and intellectually to be against him right from the start.  We have to hope and pray that he will be a good and successful president.  I can think of few things better than for him to be president for several years and for all to agree that he had served wisely and well.

I pray God will be much with him as he makes his first decisions.

I pray President Obama will search his own soul carefully.

I pray for his success to the benefit of the American people.

Something else.  It knocked me off kilter to not have a white man be president.  I mean that in a good way.  I went to Target where a gracious African-American woman opened up a register to allow me to check out more quickly.  I looked at her while I paid for my purchases and thought, “For the first time ever, the president of the United States is one of you rather than one of me.”  This has to be a very good time for African-Americans.  I am glad for them.  This should help heal some legitimately sore old wounds.

Let him be a great statesman from this day on.

9 thoughts on “Praying for Obama

  1. Amen to that, brother. Which president doesn’t need our prayers? And indeed – as you have pointed out to me – president-elect Obama’s voting record has been far left. I can only pray that he will be governing from the center. And I do have high hopes that he will.

    And you are 1/2 right about the “one of you rather than one of me” comment. Obama IS one of you! Or at least HALF of you. He’s 1/2 white, and don’t you forget that even though he doesn’t resemble a good ole white boy.

    He was raised more from the white side of his family than the black side. That’s why it’s so great about mixed-raced Americans; they are really a product of both races – uniquely capable to bridge both worlds and claim two perspectives as his own.

    And you know I say that from my personal experience. You know how untrue it would be to call my two boys Chinese; they think “Chinese” means their daddy, not them. It’s like saying I raise them alone and my wife and her side of the family have little influence on them.

    That’s why Obama is unique. May God bless him to fulfill all the promises of a great president.

    (Just wait until an Asian-American being the president. I’ll be partying like it’s 2999)

  2. “First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.” (1 Timothy 2:2-4, ESV)

    If it applied to Nero, it certainly applies to Barack Obama. And if he should prove to be our enemy, well, we know what we’re commanded to do about them.

  3. Who would Jesus have voted for? Nobody ! He is God he is not a republican or a democrat.

    As for the shock of a black president, try voting for a preacher for your church that is younger than you! Now that’s uncomfortable.

  4. Good to see you here, Grady. God is definitely bigger than the political parties. But I do think he’s interested in justice. I’m praying this president seeks God’s will in that matter and finds it!

Comments are closed.