The Final Cut

During the summer, I watched a film starring Robin Williams in a dramatic role.  Contrary to his comedian image, I’ve always thought he was better as a serious actor.  This particular film, The Final Cut, was about a future in which it is possible to have a bio-implant that essentially records every event of one’s life.  At death, it is removed and a “cutter” reviews the material (organized by the software into amazing categories) for compilation into a remembrance.

As you might imagine, the raw footage is all too honest.  The only people who ever see it are the cutters.  They know the real truth, but rarely show it.  The surviving friends and relatives don’t want that.  They want an idealized memory.

I recommend the film, but the bigger point is that it is provocative of thought.  As I watched, I kept thinking about how people would think or how they would live their lives differently if they knew they had such an implant.  What would that be like?

Then I realized that we do have an implant like that.  It’s called a soul.  And God will be the one who judges our lives in their entirety.  You think about that and you know you need a savior.  You know you need someone to make up for everything you failed to do and for every wrong decision you made.  You know you need someone to help you account for the sheer waste and lack of human sympathy in your life.

3 thoughts on “The Final Cut

  1. I believe Francis Schaeffer explained the idea of final judgment (following Romans 2) in terms of having a tape recorder hung around your neck at birth, and then having it all played back before God at the Last Judgment.

    A Jewish friend tells me that the greatest difference between Christians and Jews is that Jews just don’t see sin as that big a deal. We all sin; we offend God; we say we’re sorry and life goes on. No big redemption required. God’s reasonable.

    When I think of that final judgment, though, I can’t imagine approaching it that way.

  2. I think God is reasonable, but I still think he is holy. If an imperfect being like me can see my flaws, then I reckon a perfect, holy one smells them stinking to high heaven.

Comments are closed.